Smack unable decrypt a encrypted message once received in onOmemoMessageReceived

Hi,

I am new to OMEMO encription and have implemented Smack 4.2.1-SNAPSHOT. Since there is a dedicated listener ‘OmemoMessageListener’ in OmemoManager for receiving encrypted message. But i am also getting callback for this encrypted message in ChatMessageListener(in org.jivesoftware.smack.chat). It throws an exception when i try to decrypt this encrypted message received in ChatMessageListener using OmemoManager.decrypt(BareJid sender, Message omemoMessage).

Exception :

org.jivesoftware.smackx.omemo.exceptions.CryptoFailedException: Transported key could not be decrypted, since no provided message key. Provides keys: [1455851406]

Please tell me what i am doing wrong. And one more thing i want to know that, is there any way to decrypt OMEMO encrypted messages in offline state(When user not connected to XMPP) since user is not connected to XMPP when application has killed and user is receiving these OMEMO encrypted message through push notifications.

You can include the following statement in your ChatMessageListener(); The chatMessageListener() should just ignore any omemo encrypted messages.

// Leave handling of omemo message to onOmemoMessageReceived()
OmemoElement omemoMessage

= message.getExtension(OmemoElement.ENCRYPTED, OMEMO_NAMESPACE_V_AXOLOTL);
if (omemoMessage != null)
return;

1 Like

Hi!

OMEMO messages currently also get delivered to the ChatMessageListener, thats a little unfortunate. You should probably ignore OMEMO messages that arrive in the ChatMessageListener and use the OmemoMessageListener for OMEMO messages. The code that @cmeng provided should do the job.

Please note, that every OMEMO message can only be decrypted once, so I guess you get the exception because Smack already decrypted the message automatically for you within the OmemoMessageListener.