Openfire failure on Mac OSX 10.12.4

Hi buddies,

I am new to openfire. I tried to install openfire 4.1.3 on my mac which is OSX 10.12.4.

Here were what I did:

1. installed openfire 4.1.3

2. Installed Java

3. Installed Xampp

4. launched Apach Web server and Php server

5 Configured openfire via “localhost:9090”, created the Mysql DB with credentials and openfire login credentials. All looked going well. But after that the openfire server seemed down. I could never access it via “localhost:9090”. “netstat -an|grep 9090” returned nothing. It looked the openfire server was down. I was thinking of start the server through Termnial but I could access the /usr/local/openfire with permission deined error. Sudo didn’t work.

1. I also noticed a strange thing, after openfire being installed, no GUI could be found. I searched in Applications.

Please could I have your advice? Many thanks!

Qing

After a few attempts, I made it work finally!

Here are the steps:

1 Uninstall openfire from terminal via commands below:

sudo rm -rf /usr/local/openfire

sudo rm -rf /Library/PreferencePanes/Openfire.prefPane
  sudo rm -rf /Library/LaunchDaemons/org.jivesoftware.openfire.plist
  sudo rm -rf /Library/Receipts/Openfire.pkg
  1. reboot mac

2. reinstall openfire

3. After installation, if successfully, openfire console GUI icon should be sitting in Other of Mac system preference. Click the openfire icon to launch the console.

4. The openfire server can be start/stop by clicking the button below Status. It works for me:)

5. click “Open admin console” button, it will guide you to browser for configuring the openfire server just as “localhost:9090”; don’t forget to launch Xampp(Web, PhP, Mysql)