XEP-313 xmlns

I am new to XMPP, using Smack on Android. I started to look into XEP-313 to pull message archives from Open Fire (v4.0.2) to Android client. Was very pleased to see the recent efforts to add this to Smack 4.2 beta, so I switched from v4.1.7 to v4.2 beta (smack-nightly-SNAPSHOT-4.3-2016-08-04), however I am unable to pull message archives from Open Fire (with Monitoring plugin 1.5.4). As you’ll see in verbose details below I was able to get it partially working with code change. My question boils down to which namespace is correct: Smack and XEP-313 (mam:1), or Open Fire (mam:0)?

Using Smack DEBUG flag, I found that Smack’s new MAM Manager code is using xmlns='urn:xmpp:mam:1 e.g.

SENT (0): urn:xmpp:mam:12016-08-07T03:18:00.222+00:00</i q>

but Open Fire seems to be reporting supported feature of e.g.

RECV (0):

As a result the Smack MamManager.isSupportedByServer() is returning false, and an attempt to queryArchive() fails with an error 503 from Open Fire e.g.

urn:xmpp:mam:12016-08-07T03:18:00.222+00:00

For a quick test, I modified my local smack-experimental-4.2.0-beta3-SNAPSHOT.jar to use xmlns=‘urn:xmpp:mam:0’ e.g.

urn:xmpp:mam:02016-08-07T02:33:01.041+00:00</i q>

With this change, I was able to get delayed/forwarded messages sent back from Open Fire to my Smack client, followed by the FIN message. However, minor side issue, during processing of these messages I get these errors as well…

E/xceptionLoggingCallback﹕ Smack message parsing exception. Content: ‘8c1ba7cf-e539-4fcb-b364-c6d346a877d9’

• java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Namespace must not be null or empty*

•        at org.jivesoftware.smack.util.StringUtils.requireNotNullOrEmpty(StringUtils.java: 426)*

•        at org.jivesoftware.smack.packet.StandardExtensionElement.<init>(StandardExtension Element.java:69)*

•        at org.jivesoftware.smack.packet.StandardExtensionElement.<init>(StandardExtension Element.java:43)*