Spark 2.7.6 and Openfire 4.0.2 SSO on windows

Hello,

Total newb here with Openfire and Spark. I’m not even sure which forum to place this in. I have come across a numerous amount of setups on here and the internet on getting SSO to work. I am totally clueless where to even start. My environment is a mixed 2003/2008 Windows Server domain and mainly Windows 7 on the desktops. Some of the article I’ve found Openfire+Spark on Windows Server 2008 R2 with SSO seems like what I need with some tweaking. I am not even sure where to start with this document. Do I start on my Windows Server domain controller or on the Openfire application server? I actually thought when I setup Openfire using LDAP that it would automatically sign in users? I doubt it can be any simpler but doesn’t anyone have some good step/step instructions that would make sense to me? Thanks in advance for the help!

Tony

without sso, and with LDAP/AD, your users can sign in manually using their network username and password. SSO basically makes this easier, as it reads the username and password from kerberos session key, and automatically signs in the user.

once you have openfire install and ldap connected, if you want SSO, you can try the above guide. The same author updated the his guide here 28 Steps to Single Sign On for Openfire XMPP Server on Windows Server 2012 R2 with Spark

In a 2003 forest domain level, his guide should work well for you.

A quick guide I threw together is here, but geared towards 2008 and above forest/domain levels.

How to Setup SSO on Windows Server 2008r2/2012r2 with a Domain level of 2008r2/2012r2

HI Speed,

Thanks for the quick reply! I’m stuck on the first command lol… I used this link28 Steps to Single Sign On for Openfire XMPP Server on Windows Server 2012 R2 with Spark and I’m entering in setspn -U -S XMPP/computername.mydomain myaccount and it’s telling me that -S is an unknown parameter. Am I supposed to be putting in the XMPP?