Whack weather example usage

ez all

i’m pretty new with whack and i have some perplexities about the weather example…i built it, run it: now what? how i can use it? i suppose i have to write a client plugin but…

thanks!

Hi, for testing you can use Psi for example, add your weather component in your buddy list and send him a message with a weather station from http://weather.noaa.gov/ (see the attached screenshot).But for a comfortable usage, yeah, maybe you can write a client

I read that the weather example was in a sample folder in the source. I downloaded the source zip and did not find it.

Q: Where are you getting the weather example these days?

Thanks,

You can get it via subversion

svn co http://svn.igniterealtime.org/svn/repos/whack/trunk whack

But currently I think you can’t compile the trunk if you don’t fix some old references. See my attached patch to compile and run the actual revision (11087).

Best regards
weatherSample.path (2244 Bytes)

I changed the whack.jar build compile target includes in order to pick up the xmpp classes. That allowed me to use whack.jar in my component project. I hope I’m on the right track…

Thanks!

1. I rebuild whack.jar from SVN - just needed to modify the build.xml to include more classes in whack.jar.

2. I got the weather sample to compile against these jars:

commons-httpclient.jar

dom4j.jar

jweather.jar

tinder-1.0.0.jar

xpp3.jar
commons-logging.jar

jakarta-oro.jar

log4j.jar

whack.jar

1. When I try to run the weather example I get:

Exception in thread “main” java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: org/jivesoftware/stringprep/IDNA
at org.xmpp.packet.JID.init(JID.java:369)
at org.xmpp.packet.JID.(JID.java:248)
at org.jivesoftware.whack.ExternalComponentManager.addComponent(ExternalComponentM anager.java:212)
at org.jivesoftware.whack.ExternalComponentManager.addComponent(ExternalComponentM anager.java:191)
at org.jivesoftware.weather.ExternalWeatherComponent.main(ExternalWeatherComponent .java:32)