Server to Server HowTo

I am new to the Wildfire and the XMPP world so please be patient

Our company has two small offices that are connected to the Internet and have firewalls setup. I would like to run a wildfire server in each office and allow users at each office to “see” and communicate with the users in the other office.

I have installed wildfire in each office and both instances are working fine independently. Each instance is connected to the corresponding office’'s Active Directory. What do I need to do to achieve my goal stated above? Is there a how-to guide out there?

Thanks,

Erasmus

Hey Erasmus,

Have you tried searching in this forum? This question has been asked many times and one thing we need to do is include documentation for this common question.

Server-2-server communication occurs on port 5269 (by default). So the first thing to check is that there is no firewall closing that port. The second task would be to verify that the server name of each Wildfire server can be resolved by the DNS. XMPP servers will do a DNS SRV look up to figure out the actual IP address and port to use to connect to the remote server. As a consequence of this we can say that remote servers should be accessible from the internet or any remote net that you want to use (e.g. VPN).

Regards,

– Gato

Hi Gato,

what about http://wiki.jivesoftware.org/display/WILDFIRE/ServertoServer+HowTo ?

LG

When you say server name, do you mean the server as defined in the Server Properties?

I can telnet from each server to the other server’'s 5269 port.What do I do next?

Folks from the two offices don’‘t see each other. And when I try to search for a user that’'s in the other office, the search comes up blank.

Thanks,

Erasmus

Hi,

server = xmpp.domain, you did specify it during installation. The server part in the JID: “nick@server/resource”.

LG