How to persist users(MultiUserChat) and chat history in Openfire (Ver 4.0.3) using SMACK API (4.2.0 Beta1)

I have successfully created a multiuserchat group, but the user goes offline the user is removed from the group, and i want to have the history of messages to save for the user the next time he logs in. I found some approaches from previous and deduced as follows

1. There are several old answers out there but none of them is based on new SMACK API 4.1.5+
  2. using “Stream Management”, but i have no idea what and how to do it, How it helps to solve my problem.
  3. Using a PUBSUB for getting messages and delivering to user and showing the pseudo-list of users.
    I want to know the best and effective approach or any libs which help to achieve my result. I am a newbie to XMPP and have 2+ year experience in java

NOTE: I am looking for a whatsapp group chat implementation to kick/invite/providing_permissions to the user and history of messages for notifications/when he is offline.

I am searching for this from long time , Any Help is really appreciated. Thanks in advance.

The same question is also available at stack overflow, please find at android - How to persist users(MultiUserChat) and chat history in Openfire (Ver 4.0.3) using SMACK API (4.2.0 Beta1) - S…

2 Likes

I’m also facing the same issue.

1 Like

I am facing this same issue in smack 4.1.9

facing the same issue …

1 Like

Tried a lot couldn’t find a solution. Pls help me

1 Like

I am also facing the same issue.

1 Like

Stuck in It. Somebody help me…

1 Like

Any work around for this ?

1 Like

Guys…I’m screwed …at this also…Pls …help…

Please help, we are at the middle of our project and because of this we can’t move forward.

Pls help its very urgent

1 Like

Guyz… i’m facing the same issue pls …give a solution

You can persist users, if you make the chat room members_only and add the users as members.