Openfire.xml is empty

Hello all, I’m in a bit of a bind here. I installed openfire a couple of weeks ago on my 64bit clearos system. I didn’t install from the rpm, and I installed it in a custom location. Here’s the situation: I got it installed, it works fine, it runs. However, if I restart the service, or the server itself, it goes back to the setup page. After some searching I found that its a possibility that my openfire.xml is setup incorrectly. To my surprise, its completely empty. The system works, I just cannot restart the server without it resetting itself. Once I do the initial setup, it loads from my database just fine and runs smoothly. I have little experience with databases and openfire in general, so any suggestions would help. Some notes, while installing, I created a user jive to act as the user for openfire.

Did you extract the .tar.gz file to /home/jive ?

Do you use ‘jive’ to start Openfire or does it run as root?

There should be the ~/openfire/conf/openfire.xml file with rw permissions for user jive (or whichever user it is running - ‘daemon’ may not have the permission to read /home/jive/ )?

There should also be and env. var OPENFIRE_HOME set to ~/openfire .

Hmmm, wonderful questions. Lets see.

When I extracted the .tar.gz file, I did so in /home/Downloads. Thus I configured most everything there.

According to the /etc/init.d/openfired file, I set the openfire home to the directory above. The OPENFIRE_USER I seem to have that set as root. I should probably change that to the jive user at some point.

Also, I did give full permissions to the file within the /home/Downloads/openfire. I’m not sure where to go from here though. Your saying that my configuration files should have OPENFIRE_HOME set to ~/openfire, instead of the address I have set?

Do the start script ‘cd’ to the /home/Downloads directory (then setting OPENFIRE_HOME is likely not necessary) or is Openfire (the java process) started from a random directory?