4.0.0: AD groups are messed

Hi,

After upgrading from 3.10 to 4.0.0, some of user groups have changed the order, so users were automatically moved to another group. This is very annoying, since I can’t move them back to the correct group - OF moves them to the 1st group automatically after logging in. Is it possible to fix that?

Not sure, but might be related LDAP Groups broken in 4.0.0

Yeah, I saw that thread, it might be. Hope, you’ll release the fix soon.

Not me, i’m not a developer for Openfire

A fix that should fix this issue has been applied to both the master branch (which will be the source for a future 4.1.0 release) as well as the 4.0 branch (which will be the source for the 4.0.1 release). In approximately two hours, our nightly builds should be updated with a version that includes this fix. For the impatient: try downloading an update straight from our build server.

Awesome, thank you! When approximately might we expect 4.0.1 release?

I don’t know.

Guus, is there a certain file that I just can overwrite in my current installation or it’s requried to copy all files from the nightly package?

As a totally unsupported upgrade mechanism, which causes kittens to be killed whenever you use it (seriously, backup & don’t do this with anything important): try replacing the openfire.jar file from your installation with the one from the nightly (it’s probably best to shut down Openfire before you do this).

Guus, I’ve just copied openfire.jar from the latest zip (openfire_2016-01-25.zip) over the one in /opt/openfire/lib and restarted Openfire. Nothing has changed: the group order is still incorrect. Is there anything else to try?

No, I’m afraid not. The bug you’re experiencing appears to have a different cause than what was fixed in the upcoming 4.0.1 release.

OK. Any chances you gonna fix it in near future?

I can’t tell at this time, sorry.

Can I (or you) create a bug in your tracker so I could check from time to time about its readiness?