Java 7 Error in online Installer?

I am using the most recent nightly build - specifically this file: http://bamboo.igniterealtime.org/artifact/SPARK-INSTALL4J/JOB1/build-609/Install 4j/spark_2_6_3_12555_online.exe

My understanding was that, while the filename says 2.6.3, the file is in reality Spark 2.7.0 beta X.

Yes, it is a 2.7.0 “Beta”. So, it seems that online version can’t find system’s Java 7. As i said, you can still use the full installer.

When the online installer is pointed to JRE 1.7_45 on my systems after proposing to d/l or locate, it states that it still could not find Java.

Yes, i can reproduce this. There are even more issues more critical than this. Spark still has some hooks in the code and uses system java if it finds java 6, even if it has java 7 bundled. I have added a comment about the installer to the ticket SPARK-1545

Okay maybe I am new to this, but why is it that Spark must rely on its own copy of java rather than just run with installed version already on the machine? Also is install4j still in development, if not then maybe its time to find another method of packaging the product.

I’m not a developer, so i can’t say why. Probably at some point, when Java 5 and 6 were still mainstream, support for this versions was ‘hardcoded’ into Spark’s code and now when Java 5/6 is not available on the system issues popup.