Grave licensing issue in smack files

Hello,

I’m new to the project, so I’ll briefly introduce myself. I’m a Debian maintainer, and also lecturer at a french university. I happen to use smack for a project of mine that I’d like to add to the Debian repository. That is why I’m in the process of packaging smack for inclusion into the official Debian archive.

Unfortunately, if I submit your software as is, it will be refused by administrators as being non free software. There is 3 problems, of different gravity.

(1) the file test/org/jivesoftware/smackx/FileTransferTest.java contains the following license statement:

Copyright © 1999-2005 Jive Software. All rights reserved.

This software is the proprietary information of Jive Software. Use is subject to license terms.

As long as this remains as is, there is nothing I can do to integrate smack into Debian. Please consider fixing this issue if it’s a mistake. If not, I’ll have to prune the file from the archive before uploading to Debian but that’s kinda a pain.

(2) Several files are not licensed under Apache-2 but under the “The Jive Software License (based on Apache Software License, Version 1.1)”. I belive that this is an omission that you may want to fix, but I think that it’s not absolutely mandatory. The full list of such files is:

test/org/jivesoftware/smack/ChatTest.java

jingle/extension/source/org/jivesoftware/smackx/jingle/JingleSession.java

jingle/extension/source/org/jivesoftware/smackx/jingle/nat/TcpUdpBridgeClient.j ava

jingle/extension/source/org/jivesoftware/smackx/jingle/nat/HttpServer.java

jingle/extension/source/org/jivesoftware/smackx/jingle/nat/TransportCandidate.j ava

jingle/extension/source/org/jivesoftware/smackx/jingle/nat/ICECandidate.java

jingle/extension/source/org/jivesoftware/smackx/jingle/nat/TransportResolver.ja va

jingle/extension/source/org/jivesoftware/smackx/jingle/nat/TestResult.java

test/org/jivesoftware/smackx/RosterExchangeTests.java