Will Openfire host my Google Cloud Messaging Server?

Although I am developing Android apps, I am a newbie to the world of Java servers. My apps have been using internal SMS messaging to allow the phones to talk to each other. This worked wonderfully until KitKat broke all that. Now I’m looking at GoogleCloudMessaging (GCM) using Cloud Connection Server that uses XMPP.

The Google docs cover about everything I would need to know except that they, mysteriously, stay away from telling how to actually implement my GCM XMPP server. (See https://developer.android.com/google/gcm/ccs.html)

All the other tutorials on the internet also avoid covering this issue.

So, my questions are: Is Openfire a platform that would be good for hosting my GCM CCS XMPP Server? Has anyone used Openfire for this purpose?

While testing I would want to host on my dev box but soon I would need a commercial server hoster.

Thanks,

Gary

Google writes: ‘If you decide to use the XMPP connection server, you can use the provided Python or Java Smack demo apps as a starting point.’

I see little point in using Openfire, Openfire uses XML while Google uses JSON payload within the XML .

You misunderstand the GCM approach. You don’t run your own GCM server. GCM and the “GCM server” is provided by Google.

no, you have to have your own xmpp server to communicate with Google’s GCM Server.

See https://developer.android.com/google/gcm/gcm.html#key

Gary

LG. my background is mainly using Microsoft technologies. I am accustomed to thinking that servers have to have server software to run. For example if you want to run an asp.net website, or a web service, or a WCF Service, or a HTTP REST service you have to run it under Internet Information Server (IIS) or some other “server software”. I think in the java world you have apache?

The Java Smack demo code is just code. It has got to have an environment to run in. They don’t mention how to run it.