License for icons in OpenFire: non-distributable?

According to the Readme, “All icons and images in Openfire are provided under the following license agreement:”

[legal jargon omitted - see attachment]

The license does not include an explicit right to copy or redistribute the icons, and it’s non-transferrable and non-sublicensable. So we can use OpenFire internally, but if we provide it to our customers we have to remove the icons first? Is that really what you meant to say?
Openfire Readme.htm.zip (2317 Bytes)

I’m not a lawyer or Jive attorney, but to me it looks that you can provide Openfire with its icons to your customers as long as it is Openfire. It means that you can’t take the icons out, put them into your own software and distribute it. I could be wrong, though. Jive should be able to answer this better, but i don’t know whom to ask and how.

Related question: in StringUtils.java there’s a comment on one member function (hexEncode) stating that it is licensed under LGPL.

According to section 5 of the LGPL ( www.gnu.org/licenses/lgpl-2.1.html ), aren’t you required to place all of OpenFire under LGPL (or GPL) ?

"All ownership and copyright of the images and icons included in the Software

distribution remain the property of Jive Software and INCORS GmbH. Jive Software

grants to you a nonexclusive, non-sublicensable right to use the icons royalty-free

as part of Openfire.

You may not lease, license or sub-license the icons, or a subset of the icons,

or any modified icons to any third party. You may not incorporate them into your

own software or design products."

This is quite clear. As long as your customers want to use the normal Openfire version everything is fine. If you want to provide Openfire packages you may want to contact Incors and ask for a license.

I did create http://issues.igniterealtime.org/browse/OF-502 for the StringUtils LPGL issue.

1 Like

“As long as your customers want to use the normal Openfire version everything is fine”