Newbie. Fresh install. Admin console not accepting password

Hello everyone. I am new to the ignite community. This is my first post and forgive me if this problem has been solved already. I did a search and couldn’t fix it.

I downloaded Openfire a few days ago after seeing it in Website magazine. I admin a small network at a school and was looking for some easy to use communications software so this seemed to fit the bill.

On to the problem: I did a Installed Openspark on a Dell with XPP SP3. I chose embedded DB, set the IP address, and set the email and password for admin account. I went to login to the administrative console and got an error saying my username or password was incorrect. I know my password and the screen said the administrative login was “admin”. Did I miss a step? Is there a bug with SP3 on XP? Any help would be appreciated. P.S.: I can login to the Spark client just fine.

This should be related to JM-1537. A restart of Openfire should help.

I guess I should have said I tried stopping it and starting it again. I also closed it and reopened it and still wouldn’t allow access.

Hi,

it may help to shutdown Openfire and edit the embedded-db\openfire.script file. Look for

INSERT INTO OFPROPERTY VALUES(‘xmpp.domain’,‘your_xmpp_domain’)

Insert there a line like this if it does not exist:

INSERT INTO OFPROPERTY VALUES(‘admin.authorizedJIDs’,‘admin@your_xmpp_domain’)

This should make sure that admin@your_xmpp_domain can login.

As you can login with “admin” using Spark I suspect that the password is right. Anyhow if you want to change the admin password to “private” you need to change the line

INSERT INTO OFUSER VALUES(‘admin’,NULL,‘dn8669C8s’,…

to

INSERT INTO OFUSER VALUES(‘admin’,‘private’,NULL,…

LG

That file does not exist. “openfire.lck” “openfire.properties” “openfire.log” are all that is in that folder.

Text From Section
INSERT INTO OFUSER VALUES(‘admin’,‘admin’,NULL,‘Administrator’,‘admin@example.com’,‘0’,‘0’)