Smack API to work with j2me?

High, Im a college student and I was asked to make a simple jabber client for a phone! The phone will be using j2ME and i was wondering if the SMACK API can work with it?

I got smack to work in java thanks to the great documentation but am having problems trying to get the API to work in j2me.

Thanks for any help you can give me, and if I haven’'t provided enough information just tell me what I should find out!

Interestingly enough I’‘m in a group too that is doing a very similar project. ANY how, it looks like we’'re going to have to port the API to Java ME (J2ME) ourself.

If you haven’‘t worked in Java ME before, you’‘ll soon discover it’'s missing a lot of the flare of Java SE, things like floating point numbers are a luxury not extended to the ME programmer, nor are a lot of the java.util and other basic packages.

It is for these reasons that you can’'t get the SMACK API working (well, probably anyway, based on your description).

I think the trick will be to write a mock up of the app in SE using the API that’'s here, then have a look at your code and figure out which classes from the API you really need, and then implement those classes yourself.

Since this is OpenSource, that proccess should be relatively simple. just copy the code into your ME development environment (I strongly recommend eclipse with the eclipseME plugin - see Link: http://groups.uninotes.org/JavaME_IDE_setup.php). and get rid of all your errors by replacing any code that is unacceptable for ME with your own code. (You may find that it is necessary to write some of the java.util classes yourself.)

…well, … I hope that was of some help.

Barry

Is there an official project set up for this? I have a mobile J2ME application in need of an XMPP client library and might be able to help. Or is there a different Open Source project which already does this well?

hi,

i’'m also intersted into a j2me port of smack.

has anyone done this yet?

lg philipp

Hey guys,